Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing Search

Provost's Press Release

Christodoulou named dean of UNM School of Engineering

January 04, 2017

University of New Mexico Acting President Chaouki Abdallah and Acting Provost Craig White announced today the appointment of Professor Christos G. Christodoulou as the Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing, effective July 1, 2017. 

“I am very pleased to have Christos join UNM’s senior leadership team. He is a highly accom­plished scholar and distinguished professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering, a nationally recognized innovator in his field and most importantly, a talented administrator who cares deeply about UNM and the School of Engineering,” said Abdallah.

Click here,  for full press release

Open forums scheduled for position of Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing

November 09, 2016

University of New Mexico Provost Chaouki Abdallah has invited four finalists to campus this fall for the position of Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing at the UNM School of Engineering. Each candidate will meet with faculty, staff, students and community members during their visit. The finalists are Christos Christodoulou, JoAnn Lighty, Naz Karim, and Ed Seebauer.

Open forums for each candidate have been scheduled. “The search committee was very pleased with the experience, strength, and diversity of our applicant pool”, said Julie Coonrod, search committee chair and professor of civil engineering at UNM.

Click here, for open forum schedules, complete biography and curriculum vitae of finalists.

UNM to conduct national search for dean of engineering

August 4th 2016

University of New Mexico Provost Chaouki Abdallah has announced the launch of the search for a new dean of the School of Engineering, who would hold the title of Jim and Ellen King Dean of Engineering and Computing. 

Julie Coonrod, dean of Graduate Studies and professor of civil engineering, has been appointed chair of the search committee.

The selected candidate will take over leadership of the School from Joseph L. Cecchi, who has held the dean position since 2014 and previously from 2000-2009.

The newly-endowed position — the only endowed deanship at UNM — offers the opportunity for an experienced and energetic visionary to lead the School of Engineering, continuing the efforts in excellence in research and scholarly achievement at national and international levels. The individual will have an articulated vision for the School, as well as demonstrated leadership ability, including excellent communication, negotiation, promotion, and problem-solving skills.

The dean, who reports to the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, is the primary academic and administrative officer of the faculty of the School of Engineering. The dean will assume a central leadership role in continuing development of the School of Engineering’s disciplines toward national and international excellence with a solid commitment to research and teaching. The dean is responsible for advancing and promoting the School in areas of instruction, research, fiscal management, development, and personnel.

The dean manages an annual academic budget of approximately $17 million and the administration of the departments of Chemical and Biological Engineering; Civil Engineering; Computer Science; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; and Nuclear Engineering, as well as oversight of six research centers: the Center for Biomedical Engineering; the Center for Emerging Energy Technologies; COSMIAC, Manufacturing Training and Technology Center, the Institute for Space and Nuclear Power Studies, and the Center for Water and the Environment. In fiscal year 2016, the School had $32.9 million in total annual research expenditures.

Applications are now being accepted through UNM Jobs.  For best consideration, applications should be submitted by Oct. 3, 2016. Applications will be received until the position is filled. This is a full-time faculty executive position with a preferred start date of July 1, 2017.